Although a pilot station was established in 1860 it was not until 1878 that a lighthouse was built at Crowdy Head to provide further navigational assistance. It was the last of a series of small lighthouses designed by Colonial Architect, James Barnet, who was responsible for many now historic buildings in Sydney. The original light was staffed by one lightkeeper. In 1928 the apparatus was converted to an automatic operation and finally converted to mains electricity in June 1972.Today the lighthouse is a very popular place for visitors to take in breathtaking 360 degree views of ocean, bay and hinterland. Interpretative signage at the site provides extensive information about the history of the lighthouse.